About Us

Board of Directors

Phil Gaffney

Phil Gaffney was appointed as Chairman of Iarnród Éireann and CIÉ Board Member in June, 2011, having previously served as a Director of Iarnród Éireann since 2006. Mr Gaffney is a railway signalling engineer by profession. Before retiring in December 2005, Phil had spent 28 years with Hong Kong MTR. During that time his positions included Chief Engineer, Operations Director and Managing Director. He is Chairman of the CIÉ Board Safety Committee. He is also a non-executive Director of London’s Crossrail Board and a member of the Crossrail Health & Safety Committee.

Frank Allen

Frank Allen is an independent financial consultant and former Chief Executive of the Railway Procurement Agency (RPA) from 2002 to 2012. In this period, RPA had responsibility for building the first two, Red and Green, lines of the Luas light rail system, and for extending them to the Docklands, Cherrywood and CityWest. Frank is a graduate of UCC and MIT. He previously worked for the World Bank in Washington DC, arranging finance for infrastructure development in developing countries and in Eastern Europe and was Head of Infrastructure Finance for KBC Bank in Ireland. He is Director of an MSc/Graduate Diploma in Sustainable Investment offered by the Institute of Bankers in Ireland/UCD.

Carolyn Griffiths

Carolyn Griffiths is a senior rail executive. She has during her career gained experience spanning from shop floor technician to Board Director. She has worked in heavy rail, metro and light rail systems; and in operations, manufacturing, consultancy, establishing new rail systems and managing major projects both in the UK and overseas.

Most recently as the founder Chief Inspector of the UK's Rail Accident Investigation Branch (RAIB) she created the RAIB and lead the organisation, which is now ranked as world class, during its first 10 years of operations. 

She is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and a member of its Audit and Risk Committee; a Fellow, Trustee Board member and Vice President of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers and a Trustee and Board member of the Engineering Council.  She was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by Cranfield University in 2013 for her achievements in and contributions to the rail industry.

Mal McGreevy

Mal McGreevy, who has recently retired from the position of General Manager, Rail Services, Translink, Northern Ireland Transport Holding Company, has extensive experience in the transport sector. A Mechanical Engineer by profession, Mal has held senior positions in both bus and rail companies since joining Ulster Bus in 1988, culminating in his appointment as General Manager - Rail Services in 2004.

John Moloney

John Moloney was appointed to the Board in December 2005 under the Worker Participation (State Enterprises) Acts, 1977 to 2001. John joined Bus Éireann in 1978 and works in Capwell Garage in Cork as a bus driver. He is a member of the NBRU.

Tommy Wynne

Tommy Wynne was appointed to the CIE Board in December 2013 under the Worker Participation (State Enterprises) Acts, 1977 to 2001 and to the Iarnród Éireann board at the same time. Tommy is a train driver, based in Heuston Station. He is a member of SIPTU and represents rail workers.